with catchy, in-your-face rock tunes, unforgettable melodies and phenomenal live performances, the band is ready to take over the world with their debut "no sign of relief"

Artwork by Lasse Scherven

Artwork by Lasse Scherven

The Cruel Intentions was founded in the wake of 2015, by Lizzy DeVine, Mats Wernerson, Kristian Solhaug and Eiliv Sagrusten, whereas Eiliv has been replaced as a drummer, by Robin Nilsson. All of the members have been involved with different bands previously; Lizzy DeVine lived five years in Los Angeles where he was the singer and songwriter of Vains of Jenna, a band that got their breakthrough with performances in the movies Jackass/Viva La Bam/Kat Von Dee’s LA Ink, together with touring multiple times throughout the states. Lizzy moved back to Sweden and met up with Mats and Kristian, with whom the musical chemistry sparked enough for him to move to Oslo. Thus they started working together with their upcoming album.

The band creates a young, original and modern expression, albeit with strong roots in the history of rock. This way they appeal to people of all ages and across genres. Their music conveys a wide range of emotional topics, with a light mix of optimism and pessimism as their basic recipe, although the tragicomical view of the world excels throughout the album. The dichotomy of the dark side of fun, contra the bright views of making mistakes; the loss of falling off in life and not fitting into society, contra the bravery with daring to be yourself, to go your own ways – these are the underlying themes in this album.

In technical terms, the band plays around the esthetics of bands such as Guns ‘N Roses and Mötley Crue, and carries on the legacy of traditional glam rock into the contemporary youth of today. The songs are fast paced, humorous and at times really hard-hitting, especially with the assistance of Europe’s most clashing cowbell. This album reeks of confidence, and will certainly smite you with its persuasive musical turns. It’s groovy, angry, comical and sassy – bringing out the emotions of anger, joy, fun and confidence in the listener, all packaged beautifully in their 11 track album with the title ‘No Sign of Relief’.

Band members:
Lizzy DeVine - Singer
Mats Wernerson - Bass
Kristian Solhaug - Guitar
Robin Nilsson - Drums