sarke releases their fifth full-length, viige urh, october 13th.


SARKE says: 'Viige Urh' is on fire and it will be on fire for a long time. We feel we have taken SARKE up to a new level. With the songwriting, the sound and the heaviness of the album."


SARKE - 'Jutul'

The beautiful guest vocals on this track are sung by Lena Fløitmoen.

the first single "DAGGER ENTOMBED" is already out!



Reviews on "Bogefod":

5/6 - Scream Magazine | 9/10 – Soundscape Magazine | 4/5 – Rock N Reel Reviews
5/6 – Eternal Terror | 8.5/10 – | 8.5/10 – Ave Noctum
8/10 - Metal Hammer NOR | 8/10 – Occult Black Metal Zine | 8/10 – Dead Rethoric
80/100 - Ashladan | 77/100 - Ragherrie
#9 of Best Black Metal albums of the year - Metal Hammer GER


"The darkest metal, drawing on black, death, thrash and doom, but all moulded and blended into a perfect, cohesive whole" 
- Powerplay

"...Bogefod is a fantastic release. Sarke have outdone themselves with this album."
- Soundscape Magazine

"Look behind you for the rotting Bogefod then go buy it!"
- Ave Noctum

 "...this latest saga in the Sarke anthology in one certain to stand the test of time."
- Rock N Reel Reviews


Sarke’s fifth album is an album true to the bands aesthetics and style, with Nocturno Culto’s icy and grim vocals in the top layer they continue the slow and tight mid-tempo black metal. ‘Viige Urh’ presents eight tracks that stretches from melodic and atmospheric parts colored with sometimes an irregular rhythm, to ice cold and clean riffs that enhances the vocals and the bands storytelling.

Their upcoming album inhibits some similarities with their previous album ‘Bogefod’ in terms of the conceptual idea. Viige Urh is not situated in a specific universe, but you can find a common thread through the themes of the tracks – they are all revolving around the idea of time passed. The phrase ‘Viige Urh’ can be translated to “time that has passed” or “a time that’s already lived and cannot be changed”.

Because of some of the foreign and mysterious titles of the album’s tracks, it might be of interest to explain briefly what the lyrical content is about. As previously mentioned, the title of the album represents ‘time passed’. The lyrics describe vastly different creatures, situations and places that range from realism to mythology and from old history to contemporary time. Even though these entities do not have much in common, they all share a similar trait: they all give off a connotation of time passed, or a feeling of extreme unending. You could say this also is reflected by the album cover – an old and weary knife sits on top of growth rings, and a shadow spills out on the rings representing an old sun clock.



1.       Viige Urh
2.       Dagger Entombed
3.       Age of Sail
4.       Upir
5.       Jutul
6.       Punishment to Confessions
7.       Knifehall
8.       Evolution and Fate


Sarke on: Facebook