Indie Recordings is excited to welcome Wolcensmen, a one-man project from England which introduces us with a vision of atmospheric Heathen folk music. Wolcensmen’s debut album from 2016, Songs From The Fyrgen, will be reIssued by Indie Recordings on November 30th. 

The record's first single “Hoofes Upon the Shymmeringe Path” OUT NOW!

Dan Capp (Wolcensmen) has commented signing with Indie Recordings: “Indie's enthusiasm is exactly what I look for in a label; so I'm very glad to be working with them. With their support and encouragement I'm confident that the ideas I have for Wolcensmen can be properly realised.”, and has continued about the album: “'Songs from the Fyrgen' was the most ambitious musical undertaking of my life so far, and Indie saw it for what it was - a labour of love. The album has now been faithfully remixed and remastered to show the songs in a new light, and both the CD and vinyl reissues will include a bonus CD of new songs, as well as in-depth liner notes, which I look forward to sharing with fans of Wolcensmen.” He also added about the single: “‘'Hoofes Upon the Shymmeringe Path' is one of the first Wolcensmen songs I wrote, and by invoking the Ehwaz rune it attempts to take the listener to an otherworldly place; or, at least, to draw their attention to some mystical lore from North-Western Europe. It is a Dark Folk song, but with experimental aspects - a good introduction to the world of Wolcensmen.”

Album cover.jpg

Pre-order on iTunes HERE

Founded upon a passion for dark acoustic music and folklore, Wolcensmen began life in 2013. Dan Capp, a guitarist from England (who went on to join Black Metal band Winterfylleth) undertook the work of resurrecting old acoustic ideas he'd written since the late '90s, inspired largely by Scandinavian bands who had pioneered the inclusion of folk and neo-classical elements within their sound. Wolcensmen became the vehicle for expressing spiritual philosophies and a specific musical atmosphere.
A self-produced demo captured the imagination of underground music fans, and Dungeon Synth label Deivlforst Records assisted in making the demo available again after its limited initial run. In 2015 work began on the debut album, which was released in November of the following year by the name 'Songs from the Fyrgen'. The CD pressing sold out within six months and the album received widespread acclaim, with some quickly considering it a classic of the genre.
In 2017, Wolcensmen was brought to the attention of Norwegian label Indie Recordings who saw the need for a reissue of 'Songs from the Fyrgen'; remixed and remastered, and with proper marketing and distribution. The album will be re-released on 30th November 2018 with a bonus disc of brand new songs, including a rendition of the Bathory classic 'Man of Iron'.
Wolcensmen is part of the revival of interest in old European spirituality; a sincere expression of mysticism and superstition, and an approach to songwriting which aims to bring near-forgotten things back from the mists of time.

1. Withershins
2. The Fyre-Bough
3. Sunne
4. Hoofes Upon the Shymmeringe Path
5. ‘Neath a Wreath of Firs
6. The Mon o’ Micht
7. Snowfall
8. The Bekens are Aliht
9. Yerninge