After reaching major recognition and heavy rotation at one of the biggest rock channels in Norway, Radio Rock, and air-play time on national radio NRK P3, the Bergen-based band Vöödöö is finally out with their debut album “Ashes” today! Described as the gang that writes “choruses as big as skyscrapers” by Norwegian daily press, and as “potential world-beaters” by the UK press, the band brings Rock back to basic with some boundaries pushed!

Listen HERE.

Artwork by Lasse Scherven

Artwork by Lasse Scherven

About the album:

 Losing someone close to you and experiencing the pain, sorrow and heartache of grief is undoubtedly one of life’s biggest defeats. Being thrown into the dark abyss of denial, anger, depression and hopelessness… A soul shreds into pieces and ultimately turns into ashes. But sometimes we need to let it all burn away and turn to ash, because only then it is light enough to be blown away. Deeply rooted in the band’s personal experiences coping with sorrow, the album “ Ashes" is a a journey through the pain and towards the light at the end of the darkest tunnel.

The unique sound of Vöödöö comes from the bands wide span in musical background an approach. Guitarist Sveinung Bukve is a gear-freak with a vast selection of pedals, sometimes combined to create overwhelming huge effects more similar to an organ or a spacecraft than an actual guitar, sometimes more controlled to cut through the mix with in-your-face riffs.

The rhythm section is all about hard beats and hard bass fingering, though dynamic, it is about making you feel the beat, not only in your eardrums but through the torso and into the home of your soul. Last but definitely not least Vöödöö will charm you all the way with the high-pitched mind-baffling vocals of the theatrical Gøran. 

Their soundscape is reminiscent of SPAN, mixed together with the early Queens of the Stone Age, topped off with vocals that compares to Muse and Mars Volta.

Band members:
Giuliano Antonio LoMonaco
: Drums
Stian Brungot: Bass guitar
Gøran Stavang Skage: Vocals  
Sveinung Fossan Bukve: Guitar